Who’s On Your Bookshelf?

Join the Chicago Writers Association Saturday, November 20, 2010, as our invited guest at the Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony hosted at Northeastern Illinois University Auditorium, 3701 W. Bryn Mawr Ave., Chicago. This inaugural event will provide you, and all in attendance, the opportunity to participate in… the beginning of a Chicago tradition. Lend your support to the literary community and you will be treated to a night of socializing, quality entertainment, and lasting memories. Most importantly, you will be helping us recognize the important contributions of the Hall of Fame’s first class of inductees:

Nelson Algren (1909-1981)
Saul Bellow (1915-2005)
Gwendolyn Brooks (1917-2000)
Lorraine Hansberry (1930-1965)
Louis “Studs” Terkel (1912-2008)
Richard Wright (1908-1960)

The evening begins with Elysabeth Alfano, host of Fear No Art Chicago, welcoming honored guests as they arrive on the “well-read” carpet. Meanwhile, all ticketholders are invited to the Pre-ceremony reception, a full hour of socializing starting at 6 p.m. Complimentary drinks and hors d’oeuvres will be served.

At 7 p.m., the ceremony begins with Chicago journalist and radio legend Rick Kogan taking the stage to emcee an evening artfully orchestrated by Marc Smith, founder of the poetry slam movement. We are pleased to announce that among those accepting the posthumous honors of their famous writer relatives are Greg Bellow, Nora Brooks Blakely, Dan Terkell, Dana Smith (grandniece of Richard Wright) and Taye Hansberry. Photographer Art Shay will accept for Algren. Complementing those most honored guests are a diverse collection of Chicago’s artistic community, all of whom have come together to join in this celebration. Representatives of the artistic community will be authors Audrey Niffenegger, Stuart Dybek, Haki Madhubuti, and Sara Paretsky; actors Gary Houston and Jackie Taylor; and the Nelson Algren Committee.

Attendees will be entertained with the performances by singer Lori Lippitz, as well as by the literary and theatrical groups Speak Easy Ensemble, Neo-Futurists, Young Chicago Authors, Jackie Taylor, Gary Houston, and the Teen Writers and Artists Project. The program will be followed by a Post-ceremony reception featuring drinks and desserts.

There will also be a special exhibit telling the story of Chicago’s literary history, with particular emphasis on the lives and contributions of the inductees, on display outside the Auditorium for viewing during pre- and post-ceremony receptions. Original work including photography by Art Shay will be on display.

All this is included in the $45 price of a general admission ticket. Don’t miss out on what is sure to grow into one of Chicago’s premier events. Seating is limited and it is recommended that you purchase tickets early. No tickets will be available at the door. Event schedule:

6-7 p.m. Pre-ceremony reception (drinks and hors d’oeuvres)
7-9 p.m. Ceremony
9-10 p.m. Post-ceremony reception (drinks and desserts)

Parking: Free
Dress: Business Casual

To learn more about the host of this event, the Chicago Writers Association, a leading supporter of the literary community, we invite you to visit them on their website at: www.chicagowrites.org

Tickets at http://clhofinduction.eventbrite.com/

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s